Really starting to love low-carbing!

I asked hubby today if he felt deprived, missed carbs, had cravings, etc. Which led to a surprising discussion. We both are surprised by how much we enjoy this way of eating! I love how much more healthily we’re eating by incorporating more veggies. I have more energy, less tummy troubles, and just all around feel better, as does he. Hubby said he is only down 1 pound though since we started, which I think is odd…I guess everyone that has a “diet” that works for them, and maybe his isn’t low carbing. He really doesn’t need to lose much weight anyway, maybe 20 pounds tops. And YAY tomorrow is weigh-in day!

Anyway, enough of the tangent lol. Today was a great day. I’m at 25 net carbs and a smidge over 1000 calories…which means I get to have cheesecake tonight! LOL! I drank about a half gallon today…I need to keep my bottle by me at all times to make sure I get more water in. Exercise today was chasing baby girl around the backyard playing “soccer” haha. And a short walk this morning, but it was chilly so we only made it around the block once. I am thrilled that she loves being outside so much! …..Except when it’s time to come inside and she pitches a fit lol. Oh well.

So, about that recipe. This is one I’m way proud of. I was worried about the leftovers heating up well since there are so many veggies, and veggies tend to get…wet. Not an issue!! It tasted like I had just fried it up today! Color me surprised and wicked excited haha! So here ya go:

Chicken Fried Cauli-Rice

Ingredients

2 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Trimmed of fat and cut into bite sized cubes

1 package frozen cut green beans (fresh would work too. Better probably!)

1 Small onion (I used red, it was what I had)

3 oz. baby carrots, shredded using the largest holes on a grater, or use a food processor

2 large eggs

1 medium-large head of Cauliflower “riced” using grater or food processor

6 Tablespoons low sodium Soy Sauce

2 Tablespoons sesame oil (butter or olive oil works just as well; sesame is just for the flavor)

Salt, Pepper, and Garlic powder to taste.

Directions

1) In a wok or *large* skillet, heat sesame oil over medium high heat. Add chicken and saute until lightly browned.

2) Add green beans and onion, and continue to saute until all the water added by the vegetables cooks out.

3) Add the eggs, break the yolks, then continue to saute the mixture until the eggs are scrambled.

4) Add the carrots and cauliflower, and saute for 2 minutes, stirring often.

5) Add the soy sauce, and continue to cook for 3-4 more minutes, allowing the “rice” to fry and any excess liquid to cook off.

Then Enjoy!! If you make it, let me know what you think! I welcome any feedback!

KK

Leave a comment